Provision cluster with kubeadm in Kubernetes for beginners

Hi all,

I have almost completed all the basics of k8s for beginners course, on the last module of setting up kubeadm and creating a cluster with it. I installed virtualBox, vagrant and also cloned CKA-course repository as mentioned. The repo structure is also not same now as shown in the video and Vagrantfile content does not look same to what its shown in the tutorial. I am new to vagrant so can’t understand the issue too, Error getting :

The guest machine entered an invalid state while waiting for it
to boot. Valid states are ‘starting, running’. The machine is in the
‘aborted’ state. Please verify everything is configured
properly and try again.
If the provider you’re using has a GUI that comes with it,
it is often helpful to open that and watch the machine, since the
GUI often has more helpful error messages than Vagrant can retrieve.
For example, if you’re using VirtualBox, run vagrant up while the
VirtualBox GUI is open.
The primary issue for this error is that the provider you’re using
is not properly configured. This is very rarely a Vagrant issue.

Vagrant version : 2.4.1
VirtualBox version: 7.0.15_BETA4r161959, as system is ARM64

Using a beta version of virtualBox could be an issue?

I don’t think Virtualbox works on ARM processors at all. If you’re using an M1 or M2 macintosh with Virtualbox, then it flat out does not work. Instead, you should use the “Apple Silicon” version of the kubeadm tutorial, which uses multipass. It works very well on the newer Macs.
If you’re using an ARM Windows machine, not sure what you should be using. But I know people who know people, they will know :slight_smile:

Hi Rob, thank you for your reply! I’m using macOS ARM64 and was planning to buy CKA course too, but in index I checked there is again use of virtualBox with Vagrant. Can you tell any alternative to it?