Deployment Using Jenkins flaky and learning points

The Deployment Using Jenkins task is flaky:

• sometimes the gitea webhook exists, and sometimes you have to create it; I’m all for variants on tasks BUT having to create it is a major increase in difficulty level, as the webhook is not documented in gitea or jenkins, it must be discovered from plugin source or from stackoverfloa
  • sometimes the /data folder on ststor01 is rwx by all, sometimes it is writable only by root. When the latter, this prevents using a remote directory in the Publish via SSH plugin config, so the job configuration gets more complicated AND requires sudo which requires using password in cleartext which IS A BAD PRACICE

Here are some learning points that I got out of this task (even though I’ve been using jenkins and git for several years!):

• In ststor01,
    • enable natasha to write to /data and create subdirectories in it; the task description is clear that you have to copy all files not just index.html. There are many ways to do this but simplest and fastest is to ssh natasha@ststor01, then sudo su -, then chown -R natasha /data
  • In Jenkins,
    • install not only the gitea and publish ssh plugins, but also the SSH Credentials plugin, as it makes it really easy to create sarah creds anywhere and re-use anywhere in jenkins
    • you do NOT need an alias for the web hook defined in gitea plugin
    • select Poll SCM for the trigger, without a schedule. From this page, this is because empty schedule means the SCM will be polled only when triggered by a post-commit event. I could not find this documented in Jenkins, if anyone knows please post.
    • you only need one build step, Send files over SSH, with ** as file filter otherwise you will not get subfolders copied to destination.
  • In Gitea,
    • When creating a webhook for sarah in gitea, the URL for jenkins webhook is not obvious to find: it is JENKINS_HOST/gitea-webhook/post.